Workshop 5: Data Driven Sciences



UPDATE: You can watch Session 1 and 2 of this Workshop on YouTube



  • Guillermo Cabrera (UdeC)
  • Eduardo Cerpa (PUC)
  • Jean-Stéphane Dhersin (U. Paris Sorbonne Paris Nord – CNRS)
  • Joaquín Fontbona (UCH)
  • Héctor Ramírez (UCH)

Program: September 29th

(hours are given in Chilean time, to get the French time you need to add 5 hours)

Abstracts: Titles and abstracts – PDF


Session 1

(Chair: Jean-Stéphane Dhersin, CNRS)

9:30-9:45 Vincent Calvez (CNRS- Université Claude Bernard) : “Self-generated gradients in biology: A case study“

9:45-10:00 Ezequiel Treister (P. U. Católica de Chile): “Data-Driven Science in Astrophysics in the Context of the Center for Astrophysics and Related Technologies”

10:00-10:15 Vittorio Perduca, Laboratoire MAP5 (UMR CNRS 8145), Université de Paris: “Target learning in the time of Covid-19: a French case study”

10:15-10:30 Jocelyn Dunstan (U. de Chile): “Natural language processing to support clinical decisions”

10:30-10:45  Emille Ishida (CNRS at LPC Clermont-Ferrand): “Fink broker, an optimize recommendation system for transient follow-up”

10:45-11:00 Rodrigo Abarca Del Río (U. de Concepción): “ Environmental and geophysical analysis utilizing advanced data processing techniques in remotely sensed data: Research conducted at the Universidad de Concepción”

Session 2

(Chair : Joaquin Fontbona, CMM – Universidad de Chile)

11:30-11:45 Clementine Prieur (U. Grenoble-Alpes): “Sensitivity analysis and parameter estimation”

11:45-12:00 Carlos Sing-Long (P. U. Católica de Chile): “Random artifacts and its potential effects in medical image reconstruction”

12:00-12:15 Jérôme Bolte (ANITI, Toulouse)  “Nonsmooth automatic differentiation: the key to the learning phase of Neural Networks”

12:15-12:30 Francisco Förster (U. de Chile): “The Universe in a Stream: Challenges and Progress of the ALeRCE Broker”

12:40-13:30 Round table:

  • Jérôme Bolte (ANITI, Toulouse)
  • Christophe Prieur (MIAI, Grenoble)
  • Felipe Barrientos or Gaspar Galaz (Instituto de Astrofísica PUC)  to be confirmed
  • Guillermo Cabrera (U. de Concepción)
  • Jocelyn Dunstan (U. de Chile)
  • Jean-Stéphane Dhersin (CNRS, U. Paris Sorbonne)